BEFORE THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR TILLAMOOK COUNTY, OREGON

In the Matter of Proclaiming September)	RESOLUTION
as "National Suicide Prevention Month")	#R-21
in Tillamook County, Oregon.)	

This matter came before the Tillamook County Board of Commissioners on September 1, 2021 at the request of Frank Hanna- Williams, Executive Director, and Janeane Krongos, Prevention Specialist of the Tillamook Family Counseling Center. The Board, being fully apprised, finds as follows:

- 1. Suicide is a public health concern that can affect community members of all ages.
- 2. Suicide can be defined as an intentional death caused by self-harm.
- 3. Many community members have been impacted by suicide. According to the Oregon Health Authority, suicide is the 8th leading cause of death among adults, and the 1st leading cause of death in youth ages 10-24.
- 4. Help can be initiated through crisis hotlines. The Tillamook County 24/7 Crisis Hotline can be reached by calling (503) 842-8201 or (800) 962-2851. The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can be reached by calling (800) 273-8255.
- 5. With effective behavioral health treatment, community members who experience mental health challenges can recover and can lead a full life.
- 6. Everyone in the community can be impacted by suicide and has the responsibility to promote good mental health, support suicide prevention efforts, and support mental health treatment.
- 7. If you are experiencing challenges with your mental health, we encourage you to speak with your health provider about local options for mental health services. To learn about behavioral health services provided by the Tillamook Family Counseling Center, call (503) 842-8201 or visit www.tfcc.org

NOW, THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED, that:

8. The Tillamook County Board of Commissioners hereby proclaims September as "National Suicide Prevention Month" in Tillamook County, Oregon.

DATED this 1st day of September, 2021.

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FOR TILLAMOOK COUNTY, OREGON	Aye Nay Absent/Abstain
Mary Faith Bell, Chair	/
David Yamamoto, Vice Chair	/
Erin D. Skaar, Commissioner	/
ATTEST: Tassi O'Neil, County Clerk	APPROVED AS TO FORM:
BY: Special Deputy	Joel W. Stevens, County Counsel