## AMOOK COLLIE

## **Tillamook County Board of Commissioners**

201 Laurel Avenue, Tillamook, OR 97141 Phone: 503-842-3403 TTY Oregon Relay Service

> David Yamamoto, Chair Erin D. Skaar, Vice-Chair Mary Faith Bell, Commissioner

April 20, 2022

Business Oregon 775 Summer St., NE Suite 200 Salem, Oregon 97301

Re: Innovation Hub Grant Application

To Whom it May Concern:

This is a letter of support for the Innovation Hub grant application submitted by Tillamook Coast Visitors Association (TCVA), which represents Tillamook County and works closely with partners on Oregon's north coast.

TCVA has been working closely over the last three years with our small farms and fisheries, Port of Garibaldi and Port of Tillamook Bay, Oregon State University extension, Tillamook Bay Community College, Columbia Pacific Economic Development District, businesses such as Tillamook Creamery, Pelican Brewing and Astoria Food Hub, our county's Community Development department, and many individuals involved in workforce development, training, entrepreneurship and business development to form an innovation center for resilient regional food systems.

TCVA has been the recipient of Business Oregon Rural Opportunity Initiative grants and is currently using an ROI grant to develop an Innovation center business plan, facilities location plan, cost estimates, and organizational structure to manage the center. With a farm-based center and food hub at the Port of Tillamook Bay, the planned facilities will also support the port in its role as an evacuation center in case of a natural disaster. Port of Garibaldi will become a seafood-focused center with retail, training, processing and cold storage to support hardworking small fisheries.

Recognition by Business Oregon as an Innovation Center will help the north coast create jobs, new businesses, training center, expand regional markets, and help Oregon's north coast become a leader in local food systems development.

We encourage Business Oregon to recognize this application as a worthy recipient of Innovation Hub recognition.

Sincerely,		
BOARD OF COMMISSIONER	RS FOR TILLAMOOK COUNTY, OF	REGON
David Yamamoto, Chair	Erin D. Skaar, Vice-Chair	Mary Faith Bell, Commissioner