BEFORE THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

FOR TILLAMOOK COUNTY, OREGON

In the Matter of <i>Amending</i>)	ORDER
Order #18-086 for the Formation of the)	#20- <u>043</u>
Tillamook County Housing Commission)	

This matter came before the Tillamook County Board of Commissioners on August 19, 2020 at the request of Sarah Absher, Director of the Department of Community Development. After receiving the report and recommendations of the Tillamook County Housing Task Force and being fully apprised of the representations of the above-named person, the Board finds as follows:

- 1. The Board has found workforce housing to be a serious issue that affects residents and business interests in Tillamook County.
- 2. The Board has found workforce housing to include rental housing and housing to be purchased, without cost burden, by people earning up to One Hundred Twenty Percent (120%) (125%) of the Tillamook County Area median income.
- 3. The Board desires to provide a framework to support development and preservation activities which will increase and/or preserve workforce housing in unincorporated areas of Tillamook County, and to partner with incorporated cities for the same.
- 4. The Board desires to have a commission to create, maintain, and implement a strategic housing plan for the entire county based on housing needs data for this identified workforce population.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

- 5. This Commission shall be up to a *fifteen (15)* thirteen (13) member commission composed of:
 - Two (2) representatives from non-profits based in Tillamook County whose mission is to serve low income populations;
 - Two (2) representatives from major employers;
 - Up to but not more than seven (7) five (5) at-large representatives, preferably with professional experience in a relevant field such as the banking, construction, development, realty, education, social work, or the legal profession, or another category herein;
 - One (1) City of Tillamook representative;
 - One (1) North County city representative;
 - One (1) South Tillamook County community representative; and
 - One (1) non-voting County Commissioner liaison.

- 6. The Commission shall select from its membership a chair who shall serve at the pleasure of the Commission. A quorum shall constitute a majority of the appointed members. The Commission shall keep a record of its transactions. The Commission shall be deemed to be in the Department of Community Development and shall keep files at its office in written or digital format.
- 7. The Commission shall, no less than an annual basis, review the number of housing units available to the defined workforce. Using this data, the Commission will review the approved strategic plan and implementation plan for changes necessary to achieve the defined purpose of developing and preserving workforce housing.
- 8. The members of the Commission shall not, at any time, receive any compensation as such members or acting members for their services on the Commission.
- 9. Commission members shall be appointed by the Board and shall serve four (4) year terms, except that the initial Commission shall serve initial terms of two (2) to four (4) years, with those initial terms to be determined among Commission members as part of its bylaws, for the purpose of staggering terms.
- 10. The Commission shall establish rules of procedure that shall be posted on the Department of Community Development website and shall be available at the Department of Community Development for the established copy fees by the Department of Community Development. These rules of procedure shall set forth the framework under which the Commission will operate, including the scope of its authority and conflict of interest provisions, subject to final approval by an order of the Board.

Dated this day of August 19, 2020.

THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FOR TILLAMOOK COUNTY, OREGON

	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	
Bill Bautlu- Bill Baertlein, Chair		WOOK COUNTY
MF BULL Mary Faith Bell, Vice Chair	*************************************	
David Yamamoto, Commissioner	<u> </u>	
ATTEST: Tassi O'Neil County Clerk	APPROVED AS TO FORM:	County Const
By: Special Deputy	William K. Sargent, County C	Counsel

Ave

Nav Abstain/Absent