

## SHERIFF

## **Tillamook County Sheriff's Office**

5995 Long Prairie Rd. Tillamook, OR 97141

Oregon Seat belt and child passenger safety

Date: February 1 - February 14

The Tillamook County Sheriff's Office will be participating in a nationwide traffic Safety campaign to emphasize the importance of safety belt use and child seat laws. The campaign will begin on February  $1^{th}$  and continue until February  $14^{th}$ .

ODOT crash data for 2018 shows lack of safety belt or child restraint use was a factor in 28% or 86 of a total 311 motor vehicle occupant fatalities. Motor vehicle crashes are the leading nationwide cause of death for children ages one through twelve years old. In 2018, 1,832 children under twelve were injured in Oregon traffic crashes, 11 percent were reported not using a child restraint system. It is estimated that car seats may increase crash survival by 71% for infants under one year old and by up to 59% for toddlers aged one to four. Booster seats may reduce the chance of nonfatal injury among four- to eight-year-olds by 45% compared to safety belts used alone.

Tillamook County Sheriff's Office deputies will be focusing on enforcement at various times and days during the two weeks. This effort is made possible through dedicated federal funding to carry out the program. Deputies will be watching for seatbelt compliance, proper use of child safety seats texting and talking on cell phones, and drunk driving while impaired.

In 2017 an Oregon law was passed requiring children to ride in a rear-facing safety seat until they are at least two years old. A child over age two must continue to ride in a car seat with harness or in a booster until they reach age eight or 4' 9" in height and the adult belt fits them correctly. The recent law, which extends the rear-facing requirement from the previous age one to age two, will better protect the child's head, neck, and spine from potential crash injuries. This is because a rear-facing seat spreads crash forces evenly across the seat and child's body while also limiting forward or sideways motion of the head.

For help selecting or installing child car seats, consult the seat manufacturer's instructions, your vehicle owner's manual, or visit a local child seat fitting station listed at:

https://www.nhtsa.gov/equipment/car-seats-and-booster-seats#inspection-inspection or at http://oregonimpact.org/Child\_Passenger\_Safety.

Tillamook County Sheriff's office strives to strengthen the safety of residents and visitors through enforcement and education.